ART & Tumbleweed

I’m putting up a laptop for my wife: opensuse tumbleweed. I’m trying to run art 1.15-linux and it fails with:

$ ./ART

Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "canberra-gtk-module"
Authorization required, but no authorization protocol specified
Unable to init server: Could not connect: Connection refused

(ART.bin:22132): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: :0.0

Do I need something else?

canberra-gtk-play, libcanberra-gtk-module-common, libcanberra-gtk3-0, libcanberra-gtk3-module are installed as: version 0.30-15.23

Thanks

I have no experience with suse, sorry. Did you try building art yourself?

I use Tumbleweed and run the “official” version (agriggio / ART / Downloads — Bitbucket) without any problem. I just double-click the ART script.

No, I have not tried to compile, just used:

art-1.15-linux64.tar.xz

Almost exactly what I’m doing. Instead of doing from thunar or dolphin, I do it from the command line.

Nothing happens (ie: no message) when double clicking on ART.

Not on linux anymore, but could this be a thing?

right-click → properties
grafik

Bot ART and ART.bin are executables:

$ ls -alF ART
-rwxr-xr-x 1 froggy froggy 893 Jul 17 10:24 ART*

$ ls -alF ART.bin
-rwxr-xr-x 1 froggy froggy 14126712 Jul 17 10:17 ART.bin*

Did you try

$ sh path-to-ART/ART-1.15-linux64/ART

Yes at the terminal. That’s how I get these error messages.

Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "canberra-gtk-module"

This is the first issue. You are missing this. Since it cant load it might be why you get the other errors as well. See if you can install that module. it may be available as a stand alone, or as part of another package.

These GTK messages are “normal”, I used to have them too, but ART ran flawlessly.

This is how it looks on a fresh install in a VM:

Not normal seem to be the following lines…