Astrophotography workflow for simple batch conversion of raw lights? My results still appear de-saturated.

Hi, I’m new to RT and I’m trying to figure out how to get a straightforward conversion of my raw frames with camera-specific false color correction. I basically want to use RT to get the pure data with the color fixed based on my specific camera sensor. The goal would be to save a one-size-fits all profile and re-use it for quick conversion of future batches.

The software has my camera + lens combination, and I’m trying to figure out what Batch Edit steps are necessary before sending the output to stack in DSS and edit in GIMP. But by the time I finish stretching in GIMP, I still need to boost saturation a ton to get much color visibility.

At the moment I’m doing:

• Exposure tab: default settings

• Detail tab: default settings

• Color tab: default settings (but make sure “White Balance->method=camera” and “Color Management=auto matched camera profile” are selected)

• Advanced tab: default settings

• Transform tab: it has “Lens Profile Correction=automatically selected” by default. I’m pretty sure this eliminates the need for flat frames

• Raw tab: Demosaicing method=IGV (LMMSE is better?), False color suppression steps=2, Dark Frame = choose a file in my Darks folder and then choose auto-selection (this will supposedly use all of the darks in the folder, but I receive no indication this is what it’s actually doing.

Thanks for any hints!

Hello @chrisdean11, welcome to the forum!

I have not tried DSS for stacking. I do astro stacks using Siril, that is raw → fits conversion, registration of fits files, stacking of fits files, stacked fits → tiff conversion, all in Siril (lights, dark, flats, bias). I then process further in GIMP using the tiff files.

RT is great software and I use it a lot, but I rarely do astro stacks with RT output like tiff files. I prefer to convert the raw files in the astro stack application (Siril in my case), directly.