Beginner post, help to find a solution for my software crash.

Hi my name is Mariah and I am new in this forum. I am a photographer and also a graphics designer and I do it for a living. I am using Gimp for more than 3 years now but suddenly when I downloaded the latest version it crashes. Is it because of my laptop specs?, or it can be something else?. Please help me out here.

Hi Marian, welcome!

You’ll need to give us way more information about what is happening for us to effectively help you.

What operating system do you use and what laptop? What version of gimp is crashing? Gimp will.often write a file that has crash information in it, can you locate that file?

I do not actually have the crash information now as I have deleted the software and now I an outside. I can tell you this that I am using windows 10 pro on my HP pro book 440 go. It has core i3, 2 gb external AMD graphics and 8 gb ram. Please tell me is my laptop too old for this now?

You laptop should be sufficient to run gimp.

As you have said that my laptop config is up to the mark, does this mean that the new upgrade is causing the problem?

Hi @Maria_Hernandez and welcome!

Just an odd idea, to try to pinpoint your dilemma:
from where did you get the update?

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden

Hi Claes, thanks for putting an interest in my post. I have recently downloaded the Gimp 12.10.12, and after that it does not work on my laptop. I would really appreciate if you help me out.

From where did you get the update?

From techradar as far as I remember.

Please always use the installers from gimp.org.

@Maria_Hernandez if you want help you will have to put more effort into describing the problem. These are universally-applicable requirements for getting help with any program, all points equally important:

1. Always provide the exact version of the program in question, your operating system, and RAM. (provided)