Big trouble with JPG

I am a total new comer to this field. I have been catalog jpg’s for decades. My WIN 10 computer froze in an update and I had to use Recovery disc. I got the computer up and running, but lost my data. I tried to restore my data using my external drives. Now, the jpg’s will not display correctly. A few will but the bulk appea as a big red “X”, a blue moungain icon or as a thumbnail with a THUMBSUP image. ((Note: I used ThumbsPlus programfor 20 years). I tried GM and receive tghat the image is not a JPG because it sgtat with 0x42 010.

I have thousands broken down in folders (i.e.family, vacation, art covers, etc.)

How can I recover these files. Is there an automated program to do this? Is there someone I can hire.

Thanks in advance.

I am no computer expert so I can be of little use here and defer to more knowledgeable people who answer you on this forum. However, losing your data on your computer would have no impact on your image files stored on the external drives. Your catalog system may have been stored on your computer and that may be screwed up, but the images themselves should be safe and untouched since they are on an external harddrive.

Try using the file explorer option in Windows to check the file structure on your external drive and to confirm the pictures are where they should be.

Good luck with this. I am sorry to hear about your problem during the update.

You’ll want a program called photorec.

Data loss or corruption is terrible and happens to the most careful of us, even when we have backups. Sorry that it happened to you.

Failed updates can certainly cause this and can be hard to recover, especially if you tried to recover or repair it, or the file system or files were previously encrypted or compressed.