Blend modes explained

Hi - darktable newbie here but very impressed with the program so far. Great resources all over for learning. Some challenges I have, such as avoiding halos in some modules will just take time to figure out. But one area I’m interesting in understanding more is the blend modes in the modules. I’ve seen complex explanations of some that goes into the math and theory behind them, but I’m really looking for the layman’s explanation of what each mode is intended to do and when it might be used. Does anyone know of a good resource I can check out. I know the manual does give some descriptions but not all are covered and sometimes its not clear when the blend mode is really about.

I appreciate your suggestions.

I did come across https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F7_kaTP7_W4 recently. Not specific for darktable, but i think it suits most software that uses blendmodes.

3 Likes

Thanks - its a great video, still a bit more technical than what I was hoping for.

Two modes that I think that are most commonly used both by myself as well as in examples from othert are the ‘overlay’ and the ‘softlight’.
I often explore the different modes the get ideas on usage by simply scrolling through the list and looking at the different results. You might find some interesting/unusual results.

I know this one 2. Layer Modes

It is from GIMP but the concepts should be similar.

Yes, I’ve seen a number of videos where they use those two. Also saw one where HSV lightness used in Channel Mixer but to make it work had to use gray destination, then crank red and slightly reduce blue then apply the blend mode to get it back to colour from B&W - not sure I’d even figure that out on my own!

Thanks!

It’s easy to figure out : don’t use modules that produce halos, they are inherently broken (masking and blurring in Lab cannot work). Not every bit of darktable is clean, I’m afraid, but you don’t have to use all the soft to get good pictures.