Brand new SSD is already at 89% health.

Should I be worried?

Long story short, this morning my laptop’s 1TB Seagate Firecude hybrid SSHD (basically a HDD with an 8GB flash storage module) that I’ve been using for the last four years starting throwing errors, hanging on reboots, slowing down shutdowns to 5+ minutes. So I ran hdsentinel on it and it showed 12% health with two days estimated lifetime left.

So I went out and bought a long overdue upgrade, a 1TB ADATA SU650 SSD. Came home, plugged it in and I was suprised to see it came at 97% health out of the box. Just formatting it for bringing in my backups, I noticed it went down to 94% health in less than an hour, also mentioning 6 errors ocurred during data transfer. So I went back to the store, returned it and exchanged it for another one of the same kind.

Now this second one, was 100% healthy out of the box. I formatted it, I checked for errors and since there were none, I copied my backed up data onto it - about 440GB of mostly images and videos. So after that operation, this second SSD is claiming to be 89% healthy, with 11 errors ocurred during data transfer. To make matters even strangers, hdsentinel claims 15+TB written, while I only wrote 500GB of data onto it.

Out of curiosity, I checked my original disk again, the one I replaced for being 12% healthy and having two days left, and lo and behold, that is now 99% healthy with about 1k days lifetime left, but still mentioning a few hundred errors.

I should mention this is not a system drive, I have a dedicated M.2 SSD for my system.

Now, I could exchange this again, and maybe this time go for a Kingston, or a Samsung, but I wanted to ask for feedback first.

Is this worrisome?

Check the cables running to the drive and maybe try a different one?

On another computer, see what happens.
Otherwise, yes - try to replace the cable. Both.
For now.

But in general, the batch of disks could have been like that. The races came together.