Building rawproc

I’ve been hacking on rawproc for almost two years now, and probably the most head-hurting part of it has been making a coherent build system. For long time, I just used a hack Makefile that loaded a per-architecture localmake.txt in a subdirectory, and I’d be using that still if it weren’t for a certain stubbornness on my part with software things I don’t understand. Goes with my need to organize shelf contents, I guess.

Anyhow, my goal was to move to the GNU autoconf tools (Okay, CMake folks, let me recover from this first), AND be able to do the whole thing on both Linux and Windows boxes. Windows proved to be the challenge; I’ve long been building to Windows 32- and 64-bit installers on Linux with mingw-w64, a really nice capability, but native MinGW with MSYS on Windows 7/10 proved vexing until last night, when I finally got a clean build totally with the MSYS shell. It still took a bit of munging of wxWidgets, but even that isn’t too terrible now.

The fruit of my efforts is at Building rawproc · butcherg/rawproc Wiki · GitHub. It may yet be a bit obtuse, but the essence is there for someone with a bit of MinGW experience to follow. Even if you don’t want to compile rawproc, the process is illustrative of the sort of challenges you run into on Windows MinGW. Oh, and the Linux process is also there; yet to be described is the cross-compile process, but I’ll try to do that soon.

FWIW (been saying that a lot, lately… )

@ggbutcher
Why don’t you use MSYS2. All your dependencies seem already available.
It can be installed using instructions from MSYS2 website

then you have to install required packages and dependencies with pacman. An example of MSYS2 installation here

1 Like

Yep, got everything but wxWidgets 3.1, has 3.0.2.

I remember trying it about a year ago, but I had problems with pacman on my work computer. Looks like it’s time to re-investigate…