buying advice: off camera flash

I would like to get a flash for my Panasonic GX9 that I can use off-camera. I figured out that I probably need a radio transmitter + a receiver + a flash (or a flash that has a built-in receiver), but beyond that I am lost in the sea of terminology (TTL, HSS, do I need any of that?).

And of course I would like to have the possibility of using the flash on the camera, so that I carry only a single one.

I am new to flash photography, any advice would be appreciated, but the best would be specific product recommendations.

1 Like

For my Olympus E-M10 and E-M1 (both Mark II) I use a Godox TT350o flash and X1t trigger, these work perfectly for me, both on and off camera. Note that Godox makes devices for different camera systems so make sure to buy the flash and trigger for the Olympus/Panasonic system.

Based on several reviews I read Godox seems to make good flashes and triggers for a reasonable price.

5 Likes

Morning, @Tamas_Papp!

I fully agree with @IJskegel.
For my Fuji X-system, I use an XPro trigger, one V860II flash,
and one TT350 flash, all Godox.

They are a few years old, so most certainly there are more modern models
available nowadays. The system works fine, on camera as well as off camera.
As Patrick wrote: ensure that you get a system that works for your Oly/Panasonic.

Do you “need” TTL, HSS…?
I use TTL very much, but hardly the HSS ability. What you “need” is of course
up to you, but those features are built into those Godox.

Where to learn more?
The Strobists is always a good start: Strobist: Lighting 101: Introduction

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden

5 Likes

My only input is that I have a Neewer system, with the CT-16 receivers and the basic (not sure of model) trigger.
This doesn’t do anything like TTL - it’s purely a trigger, which is what I wanted as my two speedlights are manual too.