Canon 90D CR3 very poor colour rendering

Hi,

I am quite new to RawTherapee and I quite like the software, thanks for the great work. However, I have noticed that my RAW files from my Canon 90D in a format CR3 have a very poor colour rendering. The colours are nowhere close to the colours given by DPP 4 or the camera’s jpeg to an extent that it makes me avoid using the software completely. I’m not sure if anyone else with the new CR3 files have experienced this, but is there any walkaround or anything I could do in the settings to improve this? I’ve tried all the different settings, and they give very poor results. I spent way to much time trying to match the colours manually, which is definitely not the way to go.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

You can check the attached .jpeg for comparison.

Hi @andy_t The 90D has not yet gotten proper color support because Adobe Camera Raw hasn’t provided camera-specific DCP files. See Cameras supported by Camera Raw (look for D90, second column says No).
If you have a color target and the possibility to shoot the target under the proper lighting conditions, we could generate a DCP ourselves and include that in RT for a much more accurate color representation. Please see How to create DCP color profiles - RawPedia

Edit: this turned out to be false information. RT nightly builds already ship a good quality DCP profile. Currently it automatically works for DNG’s but needs manual application for CR3’s since metadata support is pending.

3 Likes

@Thanatomanic,

Libraw has color primaries for the 90D:

{ LIBRAW_CAMERAMAKER_Canon, "EOS 90D", 0, 0,
      { 11498, -3759, -1516, -5073, 12954,  2349,  -892,  1867,  6118}}, /* temp */

Their licensing in the colordata.cpp file is either of:
GNU LESSER GENERAL PUBLIC LICENSE version 2.1
COMMON DEVELOPMENT AND DISTRIBUTION LICENSE (CDDL) Version 1.0