Canon EOS 6D Mark II profile ?

Hi there,
I am a hobby photographer and has been using RT for a couple of years. In fact it was the easy use of RT which encouraged me to start shooting RAW…

Now I’ve treated myself to the new Canon EOS 6D Mark II - and somehow things don’t seem to work out any more… :frowning:

the pre - view looks fine but one I open the pictures to edit them they all seem to have a pink layer…
Can it bee that RT doesn’t (yet) recognise a Canon EOS 6D Mark II?

I tried to ask Canon directly and their guess was that the codec has not yet been installed?

1 Like

Hello there and welcome! Which version of RT are you using? If it isn’t the latest, please update!

Hi - and thanks!
I’m using RT 5.2

Excellent, you’re all the way up to date.

Since the camera just came out last month, you’re probably right, it isn’t supported… Yet!

You can help the support effort by uploading some sample shots to https://raw.pixls.us (instructions on licensing and subject mattet, etc are on the page.)

If you have a ColorChecker Passport or other color calibration device, you can shoot photos of that in both daylight and tungsten and upload those files to http://filebin.net and post a link here.

2 Likes

I downloaded abobe dng converter a week or so ago and the MkII profiles aren’t in it yet. I’d guess that will be fixed pretty quickly.

Before moving almost entirely to M 4/3 I was tempted to get a 6D. It was one of the few cameras that definitely had the low noise advantage that full frame cameras have over crop. Looks like they haven’t gone mad on the MkII so that could still be true. Maybe it even uses the more recent sensor technology that they have used in the 80D. Likely to be even better.

John

A few more things have to be done in RT to support a new camera apart from having the right DCP. :wink:

dpreview has an in-depth review.

Yes, the MK II uses the same sensor as in the EOS 80D, I am amazed at the quality of OOC Jpg’s… :open_mouth:

@paperdigits, @floessie