Changing a single "Default" profile setting


#1

Hi there,

I read through https://discuss.pixls.us/t/how-to-disable-automatic-activation-of-crop-ratio/4203 but I think somehow I’m not getting this.

I too would like to deactivate the locked crop ratio by default. However, I’d like to keep all other setting from the “Default” profile. Every time I change the crop settings, save the profile and make it the new RAW default in the RawTherapee settings, everything else gets saved along with the crop settings. (e.g. exposure, contrast, saturation, …)

Is there a way to keep the “Default” profile doing its magic and still having the crop ratio unlocked?
(Maybe some kind of Default.pp3 I can edit manually (“FixedRatio=false”) in a text editor.)

I’m a little lost here, so thanks for any ideas you may have. :slight_smile:


#2

This is simple. :slight_smile:

  1. Apply the default profile to an image.
  2. Activate the crop tool and switch of the ratio.
  3. Save profile as e.g. “MyProfile”
  4. Deacivate the crop tool and save the profile again with the same name.
  5. Go to preferences -> Image Processing and select “MyProfile” as your Default profile.
  6. Click on “OK”

Everytime you open an unprocessed image, “MyProfile” will be applied to the image.


(Morgan Hardwood) #3

Make sure you’re saving only a partial profile, this applies to @TooWaBoo’s advice as well:
http://rawpedia.rawtherapee.com/The_Image_Editor_Tab#Processing_Profile_Selector
http://rawpedia.rawtherapee.com/Creating_processing_profiles_for_general_use

In the upcoming RawTherapee 5.4, by default the crop ratio is no longer locked to 3:2, instead it is by default locked to the same ratio as your image.


#4

Thanks a lot! This seems to work just fine. I think, I switched off the ratio without activating the crop tool before saving the profile.

Thanks! However, I’m not sure what settings to include in / exclude from the profile. I want the profile to keep doing whatever the normal “Default” profile does (apart from having a fixed crop aspect ratio). The above solution seems to do just that.


#5

RT only saves the changes to a profile for active tools.

@Morgan_Hardwood
Perhaps this should be changed 'cause it’s not intuitiv.