Coler exchange / re-coloring

Hi here,
I am quite new to Gimp and would like to find out how to re-color (apply a different color) to a section of the imagee, which is not color unique (so I can not use the pointer to select “from color”) ---- so I would need to select the section of the image via the free selection tool. But I want to keep the structre of the image/section and not to simply re-paint and lose the structure of the surface (in my case a roof which I want to change in color but keep the structure of the roof in the image.)
Would be great if anybody can guide me through.
Kind regards
Joachim

Hello Joachim and welcome to the forum!

You need to duplicate the layer first:

And now you have to work on the upper layer:

Then with free selection tool you select your roof:

Then select foreground color and insert it into the pallet. I have chosen blue here:

Now colorize the roof. Either drag the foreground color into the selection or use the brush and paint the color into the selection:

To keep the details of the roof, you now have to use one of blend modes with which these two layers are combined in such a way that only the color but not the details of the roof are affected.

So you change in the list of blend modes normal

…to LCH color, for example:

You can also try HSV Hue, HSL Color or LCh hue.

Now the roof has changed color without changing the details:

Another possibility would be to “rotate” one color or color range into another using the rotate colors tool (colors - map - rotate colors):

Now you can select a color range with the source range circle and transfer (rotate) it to another color range that you select with the destination range circle:

4 Likes

Can you post a copy of the image or one similar. This technique might work, but depends upon the roof being colored and not just a neutral metal or black.

Colour Swap