Color managed printing with Darktable (using printer profiles)?

Having a new high-end printer standing around here I have recently started to look into printing photographs using Darktable. I have never tried printing with Darktable before and I was pretty impressed, when I first saw that the module seems very feature-rich.

However, I’m failing to understand the intended workflow, when it comes to color management. My situation is as follows:

• I work on Linux using calibrated and profiled monitors and I am basically very happy with Darktable’s way of handling color management in general and display profiles in particular.
  • I created ICC profiles for my new printer by first turning off all color corrections both in the printing software (I used GIMP for that) and the printer driver, then printing a color chart and finally reading the charts using ArgyllCMS and a photospectrometer. I am pretty certain that the profiles are reliable.
  • I then installed the printer profiles in the correct directories so that Darktable sees them. Soft proofing works well using these profiles.
  • Finally, I tried printing an image with Darktable… But whatever I try, the colors come out slighty wrong. I’m probably misunderstanding the workflow here, so I would be happy, if somebody could point me in the right direction…

What would be the correct way to use the printer profile? Would it be preferable to select color management in printer driver in profile and let the printer driver handle color management? In this case I would select my printer profile in the driver… unfortunately, this doesn’t seem to give me correct colors.
Or should I select my printer profile in profile and switch off color management in the printer driver? Does this make any difference at all compared to the first option? Anyway, this doesn’t give me correct colors, either.
What difference does setting the media make? Shouldn’t the information regarding the paper be “baked” into the profile already?