Color Temp Of Your Display

Hey All…

… I’m asking myself …

Which Color Temperature do you set in your LC Display and how does that influence the colors of professional (online) paperprints.

More specifically: what temperature do I have to set on the display so that the paper prints correspond as closely as possible to the impression on the monitor?
Am I making a mistake and the question is stupid? I can’t figure it out by thinking even hard…

THX,
Mr Carson

If you want your prints to match your display, you need to buy/rent/borrow a screen calibration device and use it to generate a profile for your display.

Setting a color temperature or any other subjective setting on your display isn’t going to lead to anything but madness.

2 Likes

I’m not an expert, but I believe the light the print is viewed in is the most important.
If you want the picture on the monitor to look the same as the print when viewed under a 5500K light source, you should calibrate (not just set, calibrate, like @paperdigits says) your monitor to 5500K.
If you look at your prints in bright daylight, your monitor temperature should be closer to 6500K.

2 Likes

I’m still poking around in the fog, so to put it more simply: whether I set my display to 5500 K or 4500 K… does it make a difference with the paperprints?

Yes. If you set your display to a lower colour temperature:

• The display will look more red/orange.
  • Which means your edit will probably more on the blue side.
  • Which you need, if you want your print to look good under a more red/orange light.

Or in other words: if accuracy is your goal, you should match your monitor to your viewing conditions.

1 Like

Traditionally you calibrate to the reference conditions for the colour space you’re working in, so for an sRGB monitor, that’s 80 cd/m^2 CIE Illuminant D65, gamma 2.2 under D65 lighting with 10Lux screen surround.