Create a collage/montage using G'MIC under GIMP

Hello,

I am a newbie to G’MIC (latest stable release on Ubuntu) and my first approach to this powerful tool is to create a collage.

I want to have a (horizontal) picture with a frame ratio of 3:2 to be printed as a photo (10 cm x 15 cm). I have 4 photos to be placed on the final photo, and I want some space (a small 5th plain) for text.

I have managed to do this using G’MIC. What I do not understand is how the overall frame ration for the final picture works. E.g., if I only consider the 4 pictures I can use “H(V(0,1),V(2,3))” or “V(0,2),V(1,3))” to achieve the same order, but the frame ration is a different one.

But as I wrote, I want to achieve a final picture with a given frame ratio and resolution (3:2) and a resolution so it can be printed as a collage photo.

I am aware that this might be a silly newbie question. But amybe someone could still gelp me out with this?

Thanks!

Eriol

@Eriol Welcome to the forum! Could you please provide an example? Or at least a rough sketch of what you would like to achieve? E.g. I don’t understand where you would like the text to be.

Okay, sorry, I was unclear:

The most important question is:

I have a target format - I want to have a horizontal graphic in 2:3 aspect ratio that I want to print as a photo print. So the result should be a picture with e.g. the size 2000x3000 pixels, or 4000x6000 pixels.

I have 4 photos (in high resolution) that I want to place on it - two are upright and two are landscape. (And /somewhere/ I want to have space to write a text - this could be on another small image layer I place where there is space).

The arrangement is ideally like this:

landscape|upright
upright|landscape

And possibly to the right (or left) of it a layer from top to bottom for the text. If that works. If not, then I leave the text out of this and put it into the final image.