D850 and face tracking

I saw this post showing tracking of the face of a heron.

I was intrigued, I know face tracking is available on my Nikon D850, but it is a feature that I have never tried before. The salmon fishing season is open here (though the numbers aren’t great), so I went down to the river and took a few shots:

_CTW5949.NEF (57.2 MB)
_CTW5949.NEF.xmp (9.7 KB)

Continuous auto-focus, group or 3D focusing with face tracking seem to work quite nicely

Having satisfied that this works, my next step will be to go to the Loch of the Lowes and see if it works on these beauties.

Not too difficult to get a shot when they are reasonably close to the nest, but this is at extreme range for my 200-500 lens. It will be interesting to see whether I get any results when they are flying over the loch and are closer to me.

These fils are licensed Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Share-Alike.

1 Like

_CTW5949.NEF.xmp (15.2 KB)

_CTW5949.NEF.xmp (13.5 KB)

The tracking/auto focus systems for the D850 and, in my case, D750 are rather good when taking into account the period they where developed.

I have/had very good results using, especially, the 9-point dynamic AF (left<–>right movement) setting on my D750 and also the 3D tracking (front<–>back movement) setting. The D750 lacks (human) face tracking support.

The downside, for as far as you can call it that, of these systems is that they target a somewhat wider area and not a spot. Targeting a bird in motion using the dynamic 9 points method, for example, might focus anywhere inside the 3x3 grid (even the background if you’re unlucky). There’s also no full tracking involved: the targeting is done around the fixed/static focus point set by the user. It is up to the user to keep the object within that 3x3 target area.