darktable export color problem - Help!

Hi everyone. I’m new to this forum, so I apologize if this has been discussed, but recently I have been having a problem exporting edited photos from darktable. The colors in DT look great but when I export the resulting jpg is very under saturated. It would seem that this is a gamut problem since I’m exporting to sRGB but there are also some other weird things going on. When I zoom in and out of the image in darkroom the color flips from saturated to unsaturated and then back to saturated. I’ve been using DT for about a year and have edited tons of images without this problem. I’m far from an expert on color space so hopefully I’m just missing something simple.

I’m using DT on Windows 10 and am working form raw NEF files and exporting to sRGB on a color calibrated Dell 2007WFP monitor.

Thanks for the help.
Stan

DSC_8226.NEF (18.5 MB)

What happens if you set softproof profile to sRBG and view that?

Hi @StanStill ,

What darktable version do you use?
With 2.6.0 (but in Ubuntu Linux) there are no problems with saturation neither with the representation in the darktable nor with the export as JPG:

Exported JPG:

I get a desaturated image like in your example if I choose the linear Rec709 RGB profile instead of standard color matrix in the module input color profile:

Dark_sat3

This is how it looks in the darktable:

Something seems to be mixed up with your color profiles.

1 Like

Softproof doesn’t change when I change the softproof profile at all.

Thanks for checking it out on your computer. Just got back to my home computer to look at this again.

I’m using DT 2.6.0, though this started happening in 2.4.? just before I upgraded.

I’ve changed my input profile between all the options. It does change the displayed colors onscreen but the export is always the same.