Darktable on the Mac

I am completely new to Darktable, having only installed it a couple of days ago. I tried to get some of my questions answered by doing searches on the net, but most of what I found is for usage on Windows, not the Mac, so I still have a lot of questions. Perhaps someone here can answer some of these.

1. The display fonts on the Darktable GUI seem very small to my old eyes, and I have to sit practically next to the monitor to see the text that is displayed under the adjustment modules. For example, under Highlight Reconstruction the Method, Clipping and Blend entries are so small I can not see them from where I normally sit. Is there any way to increase the size of the displayed text?

2. I wanted to use an external editor with Darktable, so I downloaded Gimp and the Gimp lua script which should allow me to call Gimp from Darktable. The script instructions say to copy it to the Darktable configuration folder so Darktable can run it at startup, but I can not find any Darktable configuration folder on the Mac. I have searched the normal places (both Library folders) without any luck. A search of the folders on my Mac does not show any Darktable folder. Can anyone point me to the Darktable lua script folder?

Any help would be appreciated.

UPDATE:

I found the config folder for Darktable. I could not find it earlier since it is a hidden folder, but I began searching the hidden folders when all else failed, and found it.

You need to add the lua script to darktable’s luarc file. You probably need to adjust the path to your gimp app.

You need to add the lua script to darktable’s luarc file.

There was no luarc file in the darktable folder on my Mac and nothing I have tried seems to have had any success.

1. I copied the Gimp lua file from GitHub to the darktable config file and named it gimp.lua. I restarted darktable, but the script did not work. I renamed the script file luarc and restarted darktable, but it still did not work.