Darktable ppa for Ubuntu 18.04 not working?

I have a laptop running Ubuntu 18.04 that I’ve been using for a few years and tried doing a software update. I’ve been (happily) using the master branch ppa for quite a while, but this morning when I tried to do an apt update, I get an error indicating the “…release no longer has a Release File”.

Has anyone else seen this? Is it a temporary outage, or is 18.04 no longer supported?

(could it be related to the internet outage that occurred this morning due to a Fastly failure?)

Thanks

I don’t think 18.04 has the necessary versions of dependencies to build the latest darktable.

Show graphics:darktable / darktable - openSUSE Build Service still builds for 18.04

master no longer does.

That’s a bummer. I guess its time to update to a newer version of the OS.
Was this a recent change? I’m pretty sure I’ve updated within the past month or so.

Thanks for the help

@darix , are you saying we can no longer do “git clone GitHub - darktable-org/darktable: darktable is an open source photography workflow application and raw developer” and compile the source etc on Ubuntu 18.04? That’s a bit of a blow if so.

Anybody - how do we find out about stuff like this? It would be nice to have some advance warning here in the forum surely?

Yes, I built on May 10th (but no PPA involved)

Well god forbid the world moves on and starts requiring newer versions of a library than a 3y old one. newer versions that would enable better programs or more features.

So I suggest … get comfortable to update your system regularly. and just move with the flow.

linux users fwiw:

I compiled my first linux from source in 1996 from a stack of 3-1/2" inch floppies maybe 6" inches high. I got all that from a guy named Marcus at work. He was a high end nerd. I was just an apprentice then.

For the next 20 years changing the OS was always a major “back everything up twice” hassle, complete with high anxiety because I had to wipe my one and only hard drive.