Darktable to GIMP workflow question (open as layers, auto-align)

I am relatively new to the whole FOSS scene, but I’ve tried to really dive in. Despite that I find I don’t know how to do certain things, which seem like they may already be supported. Furthermore, searching for those proved rather unproductive. So here I am. Thanks to all at PIXLS.US though, I’ve found this site a tremendous help as I make the switch.

I have a particular workflow I used to use in LR/PS that was highly automated, however I have been able to break that up in to individual steps, because the automation does not yet exist in the FOSS world, to my knowledge. The following bits of that workflow are what I am wondering about.

I have selected 20 (or more/less, the point being it can be a fairly high number) images in darktable which I would eventually like to open as layers in GIMP

1. I know there is a way to open images in GIMP via darktable, I have installed a lua script to do so, however, I am unsure of a way to command they be opened as layers in a single project. Is this possible and I am missing it?
    OR
  2. Within gimp is there an automated/quick way to combine all open images into a single image as layers? This would then allow me to send all images to gimp via dt, and then have gimp reorganize them all as layers instead of individual images.