DNG Linear Profile Help

I have a new smartphone (Samsung Galaxy S23 Ultra). It has RAW (DNG) output that is “linear profile”.

I can start with Neutral profile. But it will be great if there is profile that gets me to a decent starting point. I also tried Bundled profiles. Auto-Matched Curve is closest to reasonable, but it is overexposed. Yes, I can edit that overexposed image, but I find it much harder to edit.

Is there some place to download a profile that kind of work for this “linear profile”? Or make my own? And I need some guidance, pointers, or direction here on making my own.

This is the example DNG file on Google drive:

Background:

Although I have been shooting and editing RAW for over 10 years, I am complete noob when it comes to Camera Profiles. I always just used the default camera profiles. And I don’t edit much. 95% of time, I just use SOOC JPEG. Maybe 5% of photos, I will post process the RAW images.

If I have a choice, I would not want to use this “linear profile”. The issue is that I’m trying to take a single capture on this Samsung phone that will provide both usable JPEG + RAW for backup edit. Samsung has 2 different camera modes that can output RAW.

1. One mode is called Pro mode. The RAW (DNG) image is like typical RAW. But the JPEG output is very similar to RAW. Flat, underexposed, muted color. Which means the SOOC JPEG is often unusable as-is.
  2. Another mode is called Expert RAW. (Yeah, pretty stupid names. That is marketing!) The RAW (DNG) image is linear profile. The JPEG is processed, so it is much more usable. I would like to use this mode, so I can have usable JPEG, plus the RAW to work with in case I need it for select photos. Unfortunately, I have to deal with this linear profile.

Hi @D00M,

Just for fun, how does this simple profile work
at your place? test.pp3 (13.8 KB)

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden

1 Like