Does anyone know how to get started rotoscoping in Natron.

Hi, I am new to using Natron. I was wondering if anyone could explain to me how to get started rotoscoping? I want to do kind of a Forest Gump style scene, you know, where you take some old footage and put something new like a person into it?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BM7eLY9x5PM

Lots of good stuff on YouTube!

3 Likes

Cool Breeze

HELP! For the past several weeks, I have spent sooo much time trying to do in Natron what I know how to do in After Effects. Today, Iā€™m at the end of my rope and the only solution Iā€™m seeing is to just return back to after effects. That means returning back to mac or windows. Iā€™m using ubuntu and trying to stick with it.
My current project is of the kidā€™s halloween picture moment where someone is in my shot and I am trying to remove. I have studied for weeks the available tutorials to attempt this. When i thought I finally understood and tried to write it out today, it looked like a complete disaster and waste of valuable time. iā€™m so frustrated because I want to finish my home movies for someone who canā€™t be there to enjoy the moments and doesnā€™t have much more time to watch these videos. I took screen shots of what I have in the hopes that someone will reply sometime soon and its the only way I can show what I have done.
I just canā€™t understand why when it writes out, I have a white background instead of the blurred background I want and I canā€™t get rid of it even if I remove the constant node. Alltogether, the mask even though it seems to stay pretty well on the subjects looks like such shit when rendered!!

(upload://sUkNtbj5tOxl9QuiV2FbwOslNNR.png)