Doest it make sense to process a .JPEG camera file under scene-referred paradigm?

Hi.

This post comes from the one previously published in Reddit (darktable master gets a JPEG default pipeline order) since I was suggested to publish here. There are already a few responses there if you want to read them.

After doing a lot of research without success, I’ve decided to ask in this forum.

Firstly, I want to clarify that I’m not a professional and, maybe, I will write some nonsense when explaining my problem. For this and my bad English, I want to anticipate my excuses.

I usually process my RAW files with Darktable (DT) under the scene-referred paradigm. No problem here.

Now I’m trying to process a set of shots in JPEG format since they were taken with a friend’s camera without RAW functionality. And at this moment some doubts assault me. Let me explain.

According to my understanding, a JPG file from a camera fits with display-referred due to the data has been already compressed into a range that represents pure black as 0 and pure white as 1, fixing mid-gray at 0.5. Based on this assumption I believe that I must use a display-referred paradigm to process it in DT.

Yet in DT, I change the order of modules to “v3.0 JPEG” and choose display-referred workshop. Then “input color profile” is moved much more before, leaving modules as for instance “Exposure” after. With display-referred workshop activated I can see modules like “Exposure” (in base category) or “Color Balance RGB” (in color category), however, DT informs that their input must be “Linear, RGB, Scene-referred”.

Here are some of my doubts:

• Can I use modules like Exposure and Color Balance RGB with JPG files when the input I believe is a non-linear?
  • Is it OK to change the modules’ order to “v3.0 JPEG” and process the image the same as in scene-referred method, as it seems DT invites to do?