Dream bigger. Creative Cloud. (Exorbitant Prices.)

Looks like we are going to have an influx of new members.

I remember the time when, as a student, I could get away with $110 CAD for any software package that I could use perpetually. Now, it is likely to be 4-5x as much per student for 1 year, judging how much more everything costs outside of the US. See: Adobe Creative Cloud Plans, Pricing, and Membership.

Yeah already have some “fun” discussions with people about it. A few have this “well then I will pirate again” reaction. Enjoyable to see how photographers jump on violating licenses/copyright.

2 Likes

I walked away from Ad*be when they moved Lightroom to the subscription model. Raw Therapee and/or Darktable are my future.

5 Likes

On the other side, they’ll probably pick the next big thing which is Affinity suites. The price alone isn’t going to bring that much new members when they’ll just pick Affinity route instead.

2 Likes

This is best time to promote free/open source software as alternative!

3 Likes

We have been :wink: ! I fully encourage anyone else mentioning things in the wider internets to feel free to point them here!

1 Like

I highly recommend that someone who can use pixls.us twitter account refer to pixls.us platform, where you can find free/open source alternative for ALL Adobe products!

11b43664-98ea-4190-b11e-2f124532ea67

1 Like

Yep, that is the point of this post and my other Lounge posts: to bring awareness and encourage action.

1 Like

Did my part and replied to some people on Reddit about this place and Darktable. I’ve also been posting some YouTube vidoes lately.

1 Like

I pointed many people here from both FUJIX-FORUM and DP, when they have a problem with darktable or RawTherapee.
It’s satisfying to see them post here and then follow their journey.

One argument I always get is when discussing open source.
There’s no such thing as a free lunch, then trying to explain what free means.