Dull Images after importing

Hello, im new to darktable. When i import my raw files into the editing software for some reason the image loses its colour and goes dull/flat?
How do i stop this from happening?

That’s how it’s supposed to be. That’s how raw files really look like. You need to edit them. Add some local contrast and increase chroma with color balance rgb.

Oh i had no idea that was the case haha. I just thought it would look like the orginal image that i took. Very intresting to know. Thanks for the reply :slight_smile:

Commercial apps usually don’t show the real raw, they automatically make it look more beautiful. That’s what most people like. They don’t want to see the reality.

3 Likes

If you don’t want to see the reality, check here:

Some profiles use Filmic (the new way) and some use Base curve (the old way).

1 Like

It’s really the other way around. What you think is “the original image” has been processed to make a pretty JPEG image. The actual “original” is what you see from a raw processor, before white balancing and adjusting tones and increasing saturation and sharpening and other stuff to prettify it.

2 Likes

I think it would be very nice to have a button in DT that will automatically apply editing to match OOC jpeg. ART and RT can do that, why not DT? That would give a great starting point for my own editing. DT is a rather complex piece of software, some auto help would be much appreciated. I’ve spent already a lot of efforts and time reading instructions and watching videos about DT. I can squeeze now something close to OOC jpegs, but it takes quite a lot of manual editing.

The tools are already there to do this with darktable-chart, otherwise the answer is no.

1 Like