Dust detection?

Hi, I am a novice photographer transitioning from Lightroom to RawTherapee and F/OSS tools. I was wondering, are there any GIMP analogues of Lightroom’s “Visualize Spots” feature for dust removal? For reference, it is described under “Cleaning up a photo with the Visualize Spots feature” on this Adobe help page:
https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom/help/enhanced-spot-removal.html

It looks likes I just need some edge-detection in GIMP and then I can apply spot healing to remove dust spots. What is the best way to do this?

Thanks!

Perhaps this thread will be of help: Scanned image scratch removal with “ICE”

Thanks for the link. It appears the method described there involves using the alpha/infrared channel of an image to detect dust. Unfortunately it seems that RawTherapee (which I am trying to learn to use) does not permit exporting images with that channel. So I am not sure that is a viable solution.

The alpha channel results in an additional scan with infrared illumination, which is supported by many film scanners. However, if you do not have this information, there are other possibilities to reduce dust spots, e.g. the despeckle filter from the G’MIC gimp plugin. But you asked for something else …

A solution for what you require could be the “edges” filter from the G’MIC gimp plugin.

Thanks for the suggestion. I came across the despeckle filter while Googling, however the documentation states: “You should select isolated defects before applying this filter, in order to avoid unwanted changes in other areas of your image.” So I am still left with the problem of isolating the defects somehow. I would also like to be able to do this removal “by hand” for maximal control over the results.

I will look into the “edges” filter. That may be the ticket for replicating Lightroom’s tool.