Epic sunset. An easy edit?

Sunset today in Rovinj Croatia.

Is this as an easy or a difficult edit? How do you interpret the colours?

Basic conversion with my work in progress raw converter program (unreleased, but will soon will be a command line application like dcraw):

DSC09163.ARW (23.9 MB)

This file is licensed Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Share-Alike.

Edit:

less dark edit-

5 Likes

Sunsets are great for creativity. Filmulator developed, sharpened in GIMP.

Love how you can see a tiny ship on the horizon just in front of the sun. Thanks for the trip to Croatia!

6 Likes

Gimp 2.10.24

4 Likes

I’m having such fun with the log, then control-point curve two-fer:

Nice exposure, by the way; linear showed the defined ball of the sun…

2 Likes

ART

DSC09163.jpg.out.pp3 (14.6 KB)
RT 5.8 BETA. VISUAL WHITE BALANCE.A LITTLE POP COLOR SATURATED, BUT AS THE SAYING SAY, I AM AN ARTIST, I SEE SO)))

1 Like

DSC09163-1.jpg.out.pp3 (16.3 KB)
FUJI X TRANS 3 VELVIA SIMULATION + WHITE GRAY BALANCE IN RT 5.8 BETA

2 Likes

epic.sunset.easy.edit.arw.xmp (13.7 KB) darktable 3.7 Development

And one with Rawtherapee:

epic.sunset.easy.edit.pp3 (14.4 KB) RawTherapee 5.8 Development

1 Like

Thanks for posting
darktable 3.6

DSC09163_03.ARW.xmp (17.0 KB)

A new try with a different process

RAW → 3 Tiff with exposure (-1EV, 0, +2 EV) → Luminance HDR → Tiff file → darktable 3.6

4 Likes

Beautiful photograph.
Because of the dynamic range, I produced three exposures from the raw - +2.60, 0.00, and -1.34. These were blended with enfuse and then into GIMP for some minor adjustments.

3 Likes

DSC09163.ARW.xmp (12.9 KB)

dt 3.6

DSC09163.ARW.xmp (6.6 KB)

1 Like

Out of curiosity, what lens was this shot with?

Anyway, this is my take on it. I went for a bit of a split toned look.

DSC09163.ARW.pp3 (15.3 KB)

3 Likes