Error attempting to create custom noise profile [SOLVED]

Per the tutorial at https://pixls.us/articles/how-to-create-camera-noise-profiles-for-darktable/, I’m trying to create a noise profile for my Canon T8i / 850D. I’m running Windows but have a Linux Mint 20.03 VM.* I’ve installed darktable 4 from darktable_4.0.0-1.1_amd64.deb, downloaded at https://software.opensuse.org/download.html?project=graphics:darktable&package=darktable per the tutorial. I’ve installed (or already have) the dependencies, as far as I can tell: git, gcc, make, gnuplot, convert, darktable-cli, exiv2 and gphoto.

* If there’s a way to create the profile natively on Windows, that would be logistically simpler. However, I don’t have a build environment on Windows. Prior to this computer I ran Linux for years and occasionally built packages but I’m no expert.

Anyway, since /usr/lib/darktable/tools was empty (no darktable-gen-noiseprofile), I thought I needed to build the noise tools, so using git I retrieved the source into /var/src/darktable. However, in /var/src/darktable/tools/noise I found a darktable-gen-noiseprofile binary.

I shot the gradient images, copied them to the VM, cd-ed to them, appended /var/src/darktable/tools/noise to my path (for convenience) and ran darktable-gen-noiseprofile -d $(pwd). That went OK until the end:

===> Prepare profiling job
--> Remove previous presets
--> Ready to profile images

NOTE: This process takes some time and a lot of memory and disc space
up-to several gigabytes, depending on the number of ISO settings and
the size of the RAW files.
ERROR: Could not find darktable-noiseprofile tool in /var/src/darktable/tools/noise

And it’s right, it’s not there. But that was supposedly the full darktable deb I installed. Do I need to build something additional? Or install a different DT package?