Exif orientation flags

Hi All! I’m new to RawTherapee, and it seems awesome. I’m hoping to use it to help with my astrophotography workflow.

I have an odd problem though; I batch-process a large number of images, with different orientations (because of the way the camera tracks night-sky objects). I use ‘exiftool’ to set all the orientation flags to ‘Horizontal’ - and this seems to work fine for Photoshop etc. But in RawTherapee, the RAW images still have their original (mixed) orientations! Also no orientation flags appear in the ‘Meta’ tab for the images.

I did view the RAW images in RawTherapee before resetting the orientation flags - could RawTherapee have cached the metadata flags somewhere? (I’ve cleared out the RTCache folder). How does RawTherapee work out the orientation, and why doesn’t it show the flags in the ‘Meta’ tab?

Many thanks for your thoughts!
-Mat

I should probably add that these are Sony ARW raw images!

What happens if you select the default processing profile again in RT?

Once you open each image in the editor in RT, it saves a sidecar file with the settings from then. Subsequently, even if you change the exif orientation in the raw, it’ll ignore that and process based on the sidecar file.

Thanks CarVac, resetting to the default processing profile doesn’t seem to help. Also I deleted all the sidecar files, and that didn’t help either!
Cheers
-Mat

Can you provide two raw files (one with correct orientation and the other one with incorrect orientation)?
Please provide the exact exiftool command you used to set the orientation.
Then we can test and possibly provide a solution.

Many thanks heckflosse, here’s a link to two images, the first appears horizontally, the second appears vertically. They both seem to have the same exif flags. They were processed with the command line below.

exiftool -a -G1 -orientation=Horizontal -cameraorientation=Horizontal -rotation=Horizontal -overwrite_original *.arw