Exporting from RT at 300ppi

Hi,
I’m a newbie here, lets hope I don’t confuse everyone…
I take photos at 24mb, 300dpi, 6000x4000 and use RT to open my raw photos and do minor adjustments before fast exporting to GIMP.
Unfortunately, I have not long ago noticed that all the photos I export from RT into GIMP are arriving at 72dpi - there will be lots of photos in my portfolio that I ‘presumed’ to be 300dpi when they are actually only 72. Very disappointing to say the least!!
Despite reading, searching and praying, I can’t find anywhere in RT that allows me to export a photo at 300dpi.
I would be very grateful if someone could point me in the right direction so I don’t have to remember to resize an image every time I import from RT - which I sometimes forget to do - or having to open every image individually if I do lots at a time.
Thanks everyone - have a wonderful day
Glenda

Is your printer asking you for the DPI or why do you care about it? It is just metadata used in some DTP programs to import the images in a specific physical size.
In your example it would be imported as an ~50x33cm image if you set it to 300dpi and ~211x141cm if you set it to 72dpi. But even then the Printer will change it to the right size and done.

Ignore it, it is in no way a problem. Digital images don’t have a physical size. Impotent is that the size in pixels don’t change.

1 Like

Hi @Glenda, and welcome!

Relax: this is a jungle :slight_smile:

As a start, use the search utility in this forum,
and search for gimp 72 dpi.

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden

I’m going to quote myself here:

Just keep in mind that the “72 dpi” was for that specific thread.

For screen display, ignore dpi completely.