File Management best practices (Source Raw+JPG, Darktable, LightZone, etc.)?

FILE management seems to be my biggest barrier to photo editing. Many years ago, I started shooting JPEG only. Was using GIMP (XCF stand-alone). Then changed to LightZone (*_lzn.jpg sidecar with preview). Now, sometimes, I shoot JPEG-only or Sony ARW+JPEG. And I started using darktable (XMP sidecar without preview).

Struggling how to differentiate the GIMP, LightZone, darktable exports from the source / intermediate. Struggling how to move / delete a photo (and all of its children / siblings) together.

Problem?: if I delete a photo, I don’t want any leftovers. If I move a photo, I want all the related files to go with it.

Windows Explorer is a file manager. I added Sony ARW support to see thumbnails. But it doesn’t consider relationships between files as a group/collection.

GIMP is only a photo editor, not a photo manager.

darktable sees lightzone sidecar files and exports as un-related to the “original”.

DigiKam, I’m seeing ARW and JPG of the same photo as separate. The darktable .XMP aren’t shown. I haven’t experimented, yet, with any folders with Lightzone _lzn.jpg sidecar files.

FastStone Image Viewer doesn’t recognize Sony .ARW and darktable .XMP. And .jpg and LightZone _lzn.jpg are seen as separate files.

Ideally, there should be software to delete / move all of the .jpg, .arw, _lzn.jpg, .xcf, etc. of a single photo together. If you delete the source files, there shouldn’t be any sidecar files left over. If you move a photo/sidecar, all of the related objects should move with it.

Sounds like you need a shell script. Or your own custom database.