Freely rotate the crop tool

Hi! I am very new to Gimp, and working on getting used to doing things a bit different. I have wanted to move ti Linux for ages, but Photoshop kept me locked on windows.

One of the features that I enjoyed on photoshop, was setting the crop tool to a certain dimension (say 1200px x 300px), and in one go, both crop to the sellected area (drag a square around it), resize it to the defined dimention (scaling a corner) and also freely rotate it (by rotating a corner) in order to level the image

I have been trying to use the sellect tool on Gimp to achieve the same effect, and although I can set it to a certain size, I can’t resize it (aka select a larger are than then shrinks down to the set size).
Also I was not able to freely rotate it

How would you go about this in the most effective way? I was quite used to that way and looking for a similarly effective method to optimize multiple picture editing. I don’t mind multiple steps for one or ten pictures, but when editing 100-200 pictures, efficiency becomes quite valuable!

Hello and welcome @HotIce !

You can use the rotate tool to rotate the selection (here under the pointer, or Shift+R):

Make sure to select “selection” in the Transform options :

Than, click and drag your selection in the image.
NB: this doesn’t work with the crop tool but with the selection tool, but you can just use the menu Image > Crop to selection or just CTRL+C then CTRL+SHIFT+V to paste to a new image.

As for the size, i don’t know yet. Let’s wait for an expert! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks.
Yes this is the part that I have been messing with, but have trouble understanding.
The rotate tool even has an option for clipping but I am not sure how that works.

crop

Still this adds maybe 10-12 steps to my workflow compared to the cropping tool on Photoshop, so I had hopped that Gimp had a similar function for such a simple and basic function

1 Like