Full-res preview looks odd

It is the full-resolution preview that looks bad. The thumbnail and saved TIFF look fine.

Strange, I can’t imagine how that would happen because everything is supposed to be perfectly aligned and never partially transparent…

A few background questions: What’s the commit you’re running? What are you running it on? What graphics driver? What screen resolution? I understand this may be running in a VM, which I’ve never tried before.

What happens if you:

1. Change the user interface scaling (in the settings tab)? Does the offset between the two images change?
  2. Turn image smoothing on and off? This mipmaps the image preview when it’s smaller than 1:1.
  3. Zoom in? Does the spacing remain constant on the scale of the screen, or on the scale of the image?

Can you take screenshots of the full window? Do the edges of the image ghost as well, or is it only in the image area itself?

Commit e960d7e8cdccda1bf63a60e05b36244f9140b857
System linuxmint-18.1-mate-64bit
Driver vmwgfx 2.9.0.0
Screen 1916x939
OpenGL 3.3

Disabling Smooth removes the problem. When enabled, misalignment and transparency starts happening at five zoom outs from 1:1. The right edge has transparency.

Fit Zoom

Fit - 1

Fit - 2

Fit - 3

I see that between different zoom levels, the stronger image moves from the left to the right of the ghost image; they also seem to change in strength relative to one another.

If you zoom in (increase magnification) with the mouse wheel, whatever is under the mouse cursor is supposed to stay precisely there. Is this the case with either of the overlapping images?

From what I can tell, going from zoom level 1:1 -6 to 1:1 -5, the right hand image (at lamp bulb) stays true to the cursor position.

1:1 -6

1:1 -5

However, when I zoom outward from 1:1 -6 to 1:1 -7 and beyond, the preview image starts jumping all over the place. Also, it looks like the transparencies change at different zoom levels.