GIMP and Metadata

My current version = 2.10.6 on 64-bit Windows 7 Pro

I have been using GIMP for several years, jumping back and forth with the same image between PS Elements 7 and GIMP, using the strengths of both and always starting and finishing in Elements.

Other than insisting on clipping the character length of some of my IPTC fields and always stripping away my embedded jpeg comment, Adobe Elements pretty much leaves my Metadata intact, leaving me to replace the jpeg comment and a couple of the IPTC fields for each finished image.

Yesterday, just to see how well GIMP handled my extensive Metadata and what the end results would be in a finished jpeg, I opened and edited a jpeg that was carrying a full complement of data, including all “Properties”, GPS, embedded comment, XMP, IPTC, and about thirty heirarchical keyword tags.

I was not at all pleased with the results.

All but one of the keyword tags were stripped away.

IPTC Date/Time Taken was replaced with Date Modified.

The entire load of XMP data was stripped completely away.

In “Properties/Details”, the Title and Subject fields were both replaced with what had been in the “Comments” field and Comments was stripped bare.

Other than replacing my Date Taken with Date Modified, GIMP did very well with leaving the rest of my IPTC intact and unaltered.

Also, whereas Elements always strips away my embedded jpeg comment, GIMP left it intact.

I was hoping for a lot better handling of Metadata from GIMP and was surprised and quite disappointed in the end result.

I have investigated the jpeg Metadata saving options in GIMP and all desired options look to be enabled.

Is there any chance this behavior will ever be addressed and set to rights in future versions of GIMP ?

The stripping away of Keyword Tags in completely unacceptable as there is no quick/easy means of reinstating them in the finished image.

Has anyone else experienced these problems with Metadata corruption in GIMP ?