Gimp / Krita reuse/change Selection and add filters

Hi,

I’m quite new to image manipulation in gimp and I’m not sure what’s best practice for a specific task. So maybe someone could help me.

So, I have an image and I want to make some adjustments to a part of this image. For example to make a person in the picture brighter and add a blur. Best would be if I would have the possibility to undo and redo the changes afterwards (maybe through using layers or something?). Also I want to be able to change the selected area afterwards. And it would be also really nice if I could change the transition between selected part and rest of the image.

I hope i could clarify what I need. If someome knows an easy way in krita I’m also interested to hear your advice.

thanks in advance and regards,

wapitifass

In krita, use adjustment layers.

In gimp I’d make a few new layers, one for the person cutout, and then duplicate that new layer and add the blurring, since gimp doesn’t have adjustment layers yet.

Is it possible to change the size of the selection of these adjustment layers afterwards?

But then I can’t change the size of the selection in gimp afterwards am I right?

You can adjust the masking after the fact.

Providing you save the selections as channels and use Gimp .xcf file format you can restore any selection at a later date.

The transform tools all have a selection mode to scale / shear / rotate - depends on the tool.

Too many permutations but as an example https://i.imgur.com/BWRc9Su.mp4

• Duplicate your layer
  • Apply the change to the whole layer
  • Use a layer mask to determine which parts of the top layer are opaque (white, keep effect), transparent (black, initial) or in between (gray, partial effect).
  • As long as you don’t “apply” the mask you can re-edit it to change where/how the effect applies.
  • You can use Brightness-Contrast/Levels/Curves on the mask to adjust the black/white transition.