[G'MIC] Skin Mask: iain_fx_skin_mask

I’m new to masking. I have used it and I just about know how to selectively diffuse a foreground layer with a background one. However I compiled a layer mask with the filter in title. I am not sure how to apply that mask to a layer so that black/white is shown through/hidden. The youtube tutorials expect that the brush does the selection so the intricacies of using a pre-compiled layer mask are hidden from me.

I loaded up gimp and it has decided that the problem I was asking about is no more. I added a transparency layer.

I started writing this a couple of days ago. I still have not used the skin mask but I’ve split an image in two; skin/ other, while in wavelet decompose and then used the grow selection to hide the transparency between the two created by using feathering.

What I want to ask about is how to use colour in the same way you can use merge-grain in wavelet decompose. I want to enhance the colour without disturbing it too much. I’ve tried selection by colour and clear but it completely misses the distinction in the colour I observe.

I’d like to duplicate the colour (and then test some effects) but its hard to see the border as its so faint. Maybe I could try a selection with feathering and maybe a gradient of two if its not possible to use copy to enhance the colour.

Create a new layer and desaturate it.

Then set the desaturated layer to grain extract, and put it above the coloured layer. This should give you only colour information.

Make a new layer with ‘new from visible’.

Now rearrange your layers so that the new colour layer and the desaturated layer are combined with grain merge. You should see your image as normal.

You can now edit the colour only layer independently to the luminance information. Be careful that you don’t introduce any luminance information into the colour layer. If you do then you can repeat the procedure above to extract only the colour information.