Gutenprint linux - assigning ICC profile for printer/paper combo

Hi, I’m new to printing in Linux (not new in OSX).

I have an Epson 3880, and some color profiles for the paper I’m using (Red River Paper). I am using Gutenprint driver, and the GIMP printing add-on.

I see no way of adding the printer profile in Gutenprint (when i choose Print>>Print with Gutenprint). I can change on the Output tab of the print dialog the Color Correction dropdown to ‘Uncorrected’. However there is no means of assigning an ICC profile there.

The only way I see I can assign an ICC profile is under system settings (I’m on Mint 20.1), choosing Color and then assigning the ICC profiles there (I choose one at a time). However when I do that, I see no difference in the print output. (My Eizo color edge display is calibrated, and there’s a distinct yellow color shift in the print)

Perhaps this is just a missing feature of Gutenprint? Any advice on how to load a profile for the paper I’m using?

Thanks

If you use Darktable to print you simply apply the ICC profile there and print with driver set to ‘uncorrected’. However, unless you (or someone else) made the ICC profile specifically for the gutenprint driver you are wasting your time. Vendor-supplied profiles were made for the official Epson driver only and won’t work properly with anything else.

Thanks, but I am using GIMP, Gutenprint plugin.

I have ICC profiles generated for a specific paper and this printer.

In Gutenprint dialog I have set Color Correction dropdown to ‘Uncorrected’. So thats like on Mac driver where you can override the Epson driver and then opt for an ICC profile. Trouble is there’s nowhere in the print dialog to load a different profile.