Help needed for GTK3 theme

The GTK3 version of PhotoFlow is still rather unusable simply due to the lack of a proper UI theme. Personally I am a complete theming noob, and so far I could not manage to achieve something decent.

The best-looking result I could reach uses a 1:1 copy of @TooWaBoo’s “TooWaBlue - Dark” theme for RT, however there are several things that could still be improved, as one can see for the screenshot below:

For example, the background of tabs and text entries is too light, and generally I find the UI elements a bit too big… for comparison, here is the current GTK2 look:

If anybody volunteers to give me some help, I’ll give more details on where photoflow looks for the theme files.

Thanks a lot in advance!

I’d be happy to help when I return from vacatiotion on the 5th of December.

1 Like

@Carmelo_DrRaw I wouldn’t mind helping. Just tell me how.

@paperdigits @afre tomorrow I will write some instruction on how to find and replace the theme file used by photoflow. It is quite easy, as you will see. Thanks!

Indeed, I think it’ll be quite simple. GTK3 uses CSS for themes, which I’m already quite comfortable with.

I finally managed to prepare some pre-compiled appimage of the GTK3 version of photoflow, which hopefully should simplify the work of tuning the theme.

Here are the steps I propose to follow:

• get the appimage from here
  • also get the photoflow sources where you can find the theme files:
git clone -b stable https://github.com/aferrero2707/PhotoFlow.git
  • copy the current theme file in the user config folder:
mkdir -p $HOME/.photoflow/config/themes
cp -a PhotoFlow/themes/photoflow-dark.css $HOME/.photoflow/config/themes
cp -a PhotoFlow/themes/assets $HOME/.photoflow/config/themes