<Help Needed> Processing Milky Way Photo

Hello all,

I took a picture of the milky way in Queenstown New Zealand just right outside my hotel.

Is there anyone who can help me process my raw photo into a nice picture with the obvious milky way? I have shared the photo below. Thanks!

DSC05875.ARW (19.9 MB)

1 Like

Hi @jin and welcome to the community!
I don’t have an edit for you with darktable, but I could show you what I managed to do in RawTherapee.

But in general, I don’t think this is going to give a spectacular result. There is just not enough contrast in your picture, and I think quite some stray light. I’m no expert in night photography, but maybe you can find some useful tips here: Star Trails and Night Sky photography.

There is a a lot of “foreground” in this image, that is difficult to crop out. With methods increasing the visibility of the stars, one will produce artefacts in these areas. In my example i tried to reduce background light by generating a second blurred layer in Gimp an substract this.

I couldn’t push it more than this in the latest dev version

DSC05875.ARW.xmp (14.6 KB)

@jin Welcome to the forum!

I find the foreground fun, though posing a challenge to the processing. :stuck_out_tongue:

Yep, there’s a Milky Way in there somewhere!

The folk who do this for fame and fortune typically have to do multiple exposures, long exposures for the star part of the sky and separate exposure for any terrestrial foreground. You’ve got a decent single exposure, but there’s still not enough data in it to tease apart the goodness you were seeing “in situ”.