HELP selecting images in map module's filmstrip

Photo friends,
I am a photographer who is trying to migrate to darktable (from lightroom).
One thing I don’t get is how to select another picture in the map module. When I open the map module, it centers on the preselected image in the filmstrip. If I click on another image in the filmstrip, it jumps to its location on the map, but does NOT select the image in the filmstrip (there, selection is still on the picture I opened the module with). For different reasons, this hampers my workflow. Can someone tell me how I can select another picture in the filmstrip in the map module? There a way I don’t yet see?
Thanks.

1 Like

use Alt+click to select the first image, followed by either Ctrl+click to select or de-select further images, or Shift+click to select a range of images.
(see darktable 4.2 user manual - filmstrip)

2 Likes

Thank you Harald, this is helpful.
But how do I select a picture from the map view?
Use case: I want to select all pictures from a place I’ve been. I zoom the map accordingly and would like to click on the images on the map, selecting them, as if I had clicked on them in the filmstrip.
How does that work? Thanks again.

You can do this by defining locations (right panel in map view). See darktable 4.6 user manual - locations
It is not possible by selecting images directly from the map.

1 Like

Thanks pehar,

the location functionality is interesting. I’ll check it out.

Still, may I ask why selecting images via the map isn’t possible? I’ve seen a related discussion on github, but wasn’t sure why the discussion was closed (and the feature not implemented). To me as a user, it feels very counter intuitive when nothing happens once I click on a picture on the map. But I’m sure there’s a reason why it’s the way it is?

Thanks.