Help understanding color profiles

I’ve been using Darktable for a couple of months now, but I just recently got a new Fuji X-H1. I read up about using the x-trans sensor and started taking some test shots. I ran into an issue where the colors were giving me a lot of trouble.

Here is the OOC JPEG. Lowlight shot, handheld

Next is my first edit, using the standard color matrix profile. Exposure and contrast are lower, but notice his white fur. It’s green on one side and purple on the other.

DSCF4454.RAF.xmp (15.3 KB)

Searching here I found a thread that mentioned using Rec709, but not why. After some experimentation with input profiles I got my second edit using the “linear Rec2020 RGB” profile.

DSCF4454_03.RAF.xmp (13.2 KB)

This edit seems much better to me, but I’m not sure when I should use which profile. Should I always use Rec2020?

Finally the raw file:
DSCF4454.RAF (22.5 MB)

This file is licensed Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Share-Alike.

1 Like

Hello @scrawfor, and welcome!

First: I usually say that there are about half a million ways to develop a photo.
Which one is right? Answer: the one you like.

Here is my interpretation:

Color profiles are a real jungle and/or quagmire.

You have a good camera. It delivers RAW files as well as good JPGs, when called for.
Normally, darktable’s input color profile is set to standard color matrix, and working profile is set to linear Rec 2020 RGB, while the output color profile is set to sRGB (web safe) — unless you aim for another output target, of course!

In case you really want to dig down into color profiles, here is a good link:
https://ninedegreesbelow.com/photography/lcms-make-icc-profiles.html

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden

Thank you @Claes! Ill give that document a read when my mind is fresher! Like the edit!

1 Like

DSCF4454.RAF.xmp (37.5 KB)