Help with creating an appimage for rawstudio?

I have been using the discontinued program rawstudio for many years. There is some development on github, but there are always problems. Since the last properly working version was made for ubuntu 14.04, I’m thinking that it should be possible to create an appimage for it that works on more recent distributions. As long as it can process dng-files, it is usable (the dnglab app helps alot in this regard, for example). I am no programmer, and have no such skills, but I have tried to create an appimage from the rawstudio daily PPA using pkg2appimage. I have only been able to create an appimage that runs on the virtual ubuntu 14.04-machine I created it on however. I realise that this program is not very popular, but it is nice, fast and lightweight, and it would be sad to see it disappear. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

My very basic .yml-file looks as follows, and I guess something important is missing:

app: rawstudio-daily
binpatch: true

ingredients:
dist: trusty
sources:
- deb Index of /ubuntu trusty main universe
ppas:
- rawstudio/ppa

script:
(instuctions on how to convert these ingredients to an AppImage)

For my hack software rawproc, I wrote a Perl script to wrap all the AppImage construction goofiness:

https://github.com/butcherg/rawproc/blob/master/make-appimage.pl

It’s commented to spell out usage and dependencies, but it may have some rawproc-unique logic, YMMV…

Edit: Oh, almost forgot; it also needs access to the internet in order to download the AppImage excludelist, which it uses to cull the ldd list of rawproc library dependencies…

Perhaps @probonopd can help

1 Like

Thanks! I actually came across this the other day when trying to figure out a solution. Seems like the perfect thing for what I want to do, but I didn’t really understand how to use it. I will give it a second look and see if I can figure out what to write where.