Help with display of CR2 images

I am new to Darktable, and I have imported my first images in CR2 format, using windows. In darkroom, I observe that the right half of all pictures displayed are shown with coarse pixels. In the attached screen snapshot, take a look at the upper right ridge of the small mountain, illustrating the issue. The display mode is “fit”, and the coarsening vanishes if I zoom. This may be an installation issue / graphics card issue, but I would appreciate all suggestions for fixing the poblem.
snap

Hej Tor & welcome!

darktable version?
Could you share the .CR2 file?

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sverige

Hi Claes, thanks for a swift reply! It happens to all of my CR2-files. I import by drag-and-drop into the lighttable. Here is an example file.
IMG_6893.CR2 (23.8 MB)

What happens if you just open the file… go to import… add to library and open it…?? I have no issues on my old PC at work opening it…what version or DT?? What if you disable opencl…

It opens just fine for me in dt 4.4.2. I open it via the lighttable - add to library button, though. I don’t think I’ve ever tried drag and drop.

Works for me with DT 4.4.2. Quite an interesting photo…
Works for both drag-n-drop as well as the “add to library”.

IMG_6893.CR2.xmp (19.2 KB)

1 Like

I just tried both and it was fine… however one thing this image presents for me is, and I feel like I have seen this before with canon images and maybe even it was from this camera model that they are not sharp. I wonder if this is how it looks when a much higher res image is scaled in DT to my std HD monitor. I should look at it in another program but the image for me is just overall very lacking in detail almost blurred and I wonder if it is happening from down scaling??