How do I obtain current, correct documentation?

I’ve been using darktable for a few months, now. Sometimes, I want to dig into the documentation to find specific information about a module or a process, etc. But, to me, the documentation can be confusing.

The online documentation only says it is for version 3.0, but the current “production” version of the software is 3.2.1. It seems that several people here are using even newer versions. Is the online documentation for 3.0 or 3.2.1? If the online docs are not for 3.2.1, how do I get the 3.2.1 documentation? Is it on GITHub?

Another question I have is about the dichotomy in darktable concerning non-linear LAB processing modules vs linear RGB processing modules. I do not see anything in the docs that specifically states which modules are which. Since this is important to processing order, I would like to have a reference that states it, clearly.

Short answer: There is no up-to-date documentation for 3.2.1 at the moment. The current 3.0 version is the best there is for now.

One of the goals for the 3.4 release this coming Christmas is the documentation.

I know that @paperdigits and @elstoc are hard at work to get this done. Maybe either of those two (or someone else involved) can shed a bit more light on this and the progress that is being made.

2 Likes

Maybe this article will help to get you started.

It touches, and mentions specifically, many modules. Pros, cons, Lab or RGB and alternatives if one is Lab and you want/need to use a RGB version.

Long read but an essential one (my 2c) if you are working in linear RGB.

1 Like

Yes, I have read that article. It does present some of what I was asking about, but in an almost haphazard way. I was asking whether there is a more organized way of knowing for each module.

I will re-read that article and try to make my own list of linear RGB modules, and assume that all the others are LAB.