How do you compile Darktable current dev please?

hi, I’d like to compile dev from time to time, but I’m a bit stuck getting going. I’ve seen this wiki
https://redmine.darktable.org/projects/darktable/wiki/Building_darktable_22
which has some info but only goes up to Ubuntu 17.10, and is darktable 2.2 of course.

So if you could provide any details for Ubuntu 18.04, especially the dependencies ready for doing “sudo apt-get install”, that would be great.

I am no linux expert, but am used to compiling rawtherapee.

thanks and Happy New Year

On RPM systems you can do:

dnf builddep darktable

or

zypper si -d darktable

Maybe there is something similar for Debian based systems.

Thanks Andreas and for a quick response, but I need something really simple to follow like
"Here are the dependencies for ubuntu 18.04 -
libgtk-3-dev libxml2-utils libxml2-dev liblensfun-dev dada dada dada… " !

I’m assuming various people do this (but could be wrong…)

Just this one is better : https://redmine.darktable.org/projects/darktable/wiki/Building_darktable_26
And yes, it’s still works on actual master 3.1.0 as I use them. The only thing is to make sure to do the git submodule init one time on actual master to be sure to have OpenCL headers that have been moved in this master.

I ran the linked instructions but for 3.0.0 and everything went perfectly. At the end of the build I got:

To actually install darktable you need to type:
$ cmake --build "/home/dave/darktable/build" --target install -- -j4

I typed exactly that and got a complaint about privileges so I added “sudo.” Everything went perfectly so I assumed darktable was installed. How do I start darktable? In terminal I type “darktable” and it tells me I can install it with sudo apt install darktable but I suspect that will install from the Ubuntu repo? It doesn’t show up when I search using the Super key either. Running Linux Mint 19. This is the first time I’ve ever built darktable.