How do you open the embedded jpg in a raw file in dt?

Various videos on using dt show comparisons between the work being done on a raw and the embedded jpg, also opened in dt. How is that done?

Hi,
Are you sure it was the embedded JPEG and not the out of box JPEG taken as a snapshot?

There is a lua script, examples/multi_os, that will extract the embedded jpg, add it to the folder, import it, and group it with the raw.

3 Likes

I use exiftool for JPEG extraction under linux:

exiftool -b -previewImage xyz123.CR2 > xyz123.jpg

exiftool -b -previewImage xyz123.ARW > xyz123.jpg

In case of Canon files I get full resolution images with high compression, for Sony files smaller previews.

4 Likes

@gigaturbo
I will check, but I thought Boris said it was the embedded jpg.

@wpferguson
I have no experience with lua scripts.

@Thomas_Do
I am running Windows, but I think exiftool can be run on it.

I open raws in IrfanView, and I have been assuming that what I see is the embed, but dunno for sure.

I think you can duplicate the pic, discard history and now (depending on your settings) you have the JPG available for comparison in the lighttable.

1 Like

I am interested in this for when I download a raw from a Play Raw. What opens in IrfanView appears to be a fully developed jpg. So I assume that is an embed.

Using IrfanView, I have saved the image as a jpg. I have also exported it from XnView MP as a jpg. Comparing the two jpgs, they look identical, so it does not appear to be images developed by the programs–it would seem unlikely that they developed them exactly the same–so I think it must be the embed.

I think that just gets you the minimally developed raw.