How to fill an image with a Pattern

Hi there,

I am new to Gimp. I am looking for help using the Fill Pattern, I believe with the Bucket Fill Tool. Unfortunately It doesn’t seem to be working. I was able to do it with 1 flagstone pattern. but now going to do a second one, it’s now not working. It almost seems like GIMP is not detecting the line art or area to fill?

I have imported 3 stamped concrete patterns I would like to “paint” each stone area with if that makes sense.

Any help is greatly appreciated!!

thanks!!

Hi @acox, and welcome!

I am not certain that I understand what you are aiming at, but let’s have a go…
As far as I know, Bucket fill fills something into a selection.

bucket

So, what do you have selected after flagstone pattern 1 is filled?

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden

Good afternoon! Thank you for responding! I have attached a video of me trying to click on the areas and nothing happening. Thank you for your help!

Aha :slight_smile: Please try right-click and fill with pattern.

It is doing the whole area :frowning:

Angela,

Note that Bucket Fill has multiple options that affect how the fill occurs. At the top of the Options panel when you select Bucket Fill is “Fill Type (Alt)” with three options: 1. FG color fill; 2. BG color fill; 3. Pattern Fill. You’ve selected Pattern Fill. Note the options that appear when you select Pattern Fill: 1. Fill whole selection; 2. Fill similar colors; 3. Fill by line art detection. By your screen shot, I see that the third of these is selected, “Fill by line art detection.” If you want your subsequent Bucket Fill attempts to completely fill the whole image, then you need to select “Fill whole selection.” This will also affect a rectangular or other selection you use tools/mouse to create. Selecting “Fill similar colors” will cause yet more options to occur, as does “Fill by line art detection” which you can experiment to see what happens.