how to preserve transparency after applying ian's noise reduction 2019

hi all, does anyone know how to preserve image transparency when using Iain Fergusson’s denoising filter? the previous version (before 2019 update) used to preserve transparency but the current one does not. i am using Gimp 2.10.36 and G’mic 3.3.3.

Iain’s fast denoise version which has not been updated since 2015 preserves the image’s transparency but doesn’t have as many features.

to demonstrate what i mean, i have uploaded before and after images of this star image after applying Iain’s denoising filter. the background of the star image becomes white after the filter. the preview image also shows a white background which makes it more difficult to see the changes.

the only way i have found to get around this issue is to “alpha to selection” the image, feather the selection by 5 pixels and then apply the filter.

I am a graphic designer who does a lot of kit bashing of different images into 1 composite image so I would to find an easier solution to this.

thanks
illy_vs_indd_

Maybe @Iain could have a look?
If he has no time for that, I may give a try to “fix” that.
Preserving alpha-channel in a filter is usually doable with a few lines of code.

May be a bit more than a one or two line fix (but not insurmountable). Iain’s de-noising softens the outer edge (red lines to transparent), so the alpha transparency channel has to follow suite (Can’t use the original, unaltered transparency channel; it’s a hard edge).

1 Like

I will have a look at it.

It’s a bit more complicated than I thought because 1) the filter can accept a guide image 2) the preview can show multiple views

2 Likes

thanks a lot @Iain ! if it’s too tricky to change the 2019 denoiser, is it possible to add the pre-2019 denoiser to the current g’mic package instead? i.e. name it as “iain’s noise reduction (pre-2019)”

thanks again!