How to restore 60 YO Ektachrome images

Newbie here. My wife inherited 411 Ektachrome or Kodachrome family photos taken when her children were young - around 60 years ago. They were scanned and made available in digital form with no editing or correction. They all have the familiar red shift which indicates the blue and green dyes have significantly faded. Most of them have the same general appearance which means once a reasonable correction factor is applied they could be processed in batch.

Contrary to most photo editors which have rather simple features RawTherapee seems to be a Swiss Army Knife of editors. It is very comprehensive and very complex and does some amazing things. Since the photo correction I want to do is (to me) a common task for anyone possessing old, faded photos I thought there might be a ā€œpresetā€ or ā€œauto adjustā€ feature or at least a tutorial somewhere that could lead a newbie through the process. Your help will be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum. If you have one of the images scanned, one you donā€™t mind posting, it would work better to see what sort of cast youā€™re facingā€¦

2 Likes

What is the file format of the scanned images? If they were digitized as raw images with a DSLR or mirrorless camera, you can make significant corrections. With jpegs youā€™ll find it had to make sufficient correction. RawTherapee does work on jpegs, but I doubt if youā€™ll be able to make enough correction to correct the color casts.

If all else fails, just convert them to B&W. But to correct the color casts in RT, try these methods.

1. Find an area on the file that should be neutral grey. Click on it with the white balance eyedropper tool. Youā€™ll probably need to click on different spots to get the best result.
  2. In the RT color tab, try adjusting the sliders in the white balance tool.
  3. Also in the color tab, try different settings with the color toning tool. Also try the RGB curves.