How to shoot and edit real estate photos

Hi guys.

Can you give me some guidelines/advices about how to take and edit real estate photos? Should I use HDR? I have saw some tutorials but I’m still lost and I have no idea where to start.

Thanks in advance.

PS: I’m new to Darktable and to photo editing in general.

Hi, I think you need to have a photo taken from inside a room but you have to clearly see also the outside background from a window?
In this case I think the best solution will be take two different images (one exposed for the internal part and one exposed for the outside light) and then merge them in GIMP with a luminosity mask.
Maurizio

1 Like

Tonemapping/exposure fusion are ideal for this sort of thing, and that’s a place where darktable is quite weak.

Either process each individual image in a bracket with similar settings and then merge them using enfuse, or use HDRMerge to merge the RAW images themselves and another tool (such as RawTherapee) to do development and tonemapping.

In theory, darktable has the same tonemapping algorithm used by Google’s Pixel phones - compressing dynamic range with exposure fusion | darktable - but in practice the function is severely broken and the development team has decided to let it wither and die than allow it to be fixed.

This sort of workflow is EXACTLY why I changed tools away from darktable.

1 Like

This is what i intend.

I don’t get this part.

̶I̶t̶ ̶s̶e̶e̶m̶s̶ ̶t̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶H̶D̶R̶M̶e̶r̶g̶e̶ ̶d̶o̶e̶s̶n̶’̶t̶ ̶h̶a̶v̶e̶ ̶a̶ ̶L̶i̶n̶u̶x̶ ̶v̶e̶r̶s̶i̶o̶n̶ ̶y̶e̶t̶.̶ ̶C̶a̶n̶ ̶I̶ ̶u̶s̶e̶ ̶a̶n̶o̶t̶h̶e̶r̶ ̶t̶o̶o̶l̶?̶
It does have a Linux version.

Process each image individually, then feed the results to enfuse:
https://wiki.panotools.org/Enfuse

It definitely runs on Linux. It’s the only platform I’ve ever personally run it on. Maybe you’re finding some other tool with the same name?

1 Like

Now I get it. Thanks :smiley:

Sorry, my bad… :confused: